“2023 Hall of Fame nominees list drops six Premier League icons, including Evra and Le Tissier”

Premier League excludes six icons from Hall of Fame shortlist

The Premier League has announced its shortlist for the 2023 Hall of Fame inductees, which features 15 players with fans now able to vote for three of them. However, there were surprises as six players, including Matt Le Tissier and Patrice Evra, were cut from the original list, despite appearing on the 2022 list. Southampton legend Le Tissier has faced criticism for peddling conspiracy theories surrounding Covid-19 and vaccines. Man United’s Evra was convicted in 2019 for homophobic comments but has since apologised. Dutch stars Edwin van der Sar, Robin van Persie, and Ruud van Nistelrooy also missed out, having all enjoyed success in the Premier League.

The Hall of Fame was established in 2021, and 16 footballing icons have been inducted since then, including David Beckham, Alan Shearer, and Thierry Henry. Recently, two managers, Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger, were added to the list. This year, Michael Carrick and Jermain Defoe have been nominated for induction. Fans can vote until 6 pm on Monday 10 April, with the announcement of the inductees due on 3 May. Each inductee receives a personalised medallion, and the Premier League makes a donation of £10,000 to the charity of their choice.

Original Post Link

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Red Devils Report: Manchester United set to sign teenage striker sensation

West Ham Football Rumours: Four Clubs Vying for Declan Rice’s Signature